View Issue Details

IDProjectCategoryView StatusLast Update
0014936MediaMonkey 5Synchronizationpublic2018-07-24 18:33
ReporterLudek Assigned To 
PriorityhighSeverityminorReproducibilityalways
Status feedbackResolutionopen 
Product Version5.0 
Target Version5.0 
Summary0014936: Cloud scanning: Add scan results dialog
DescriptionIn case of scanning of local media we have a Scan result dialog of how many files were added/update, but in case of cloud scanning there is no scan result dialog, so user is unaware of how many files were added, how many were just paired with local (existing) tracks and/or updated.
Additional Informationhttp://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=30&t=90338&p=447071#p447066
TagsNo tags attached.
Fixed in build

Relationships

related to 0014983 closedLudek Cloud sync: further sync/scan sub-options 

Activities

Ludek

2018-07-03 13:45

developer   ~0050691

Last edited: 2018-07-03 13:46

View 2 revisions

I suppose that the Scan result dialog would be undesired in case of scheduled scan, but in case of manual scan (by OKing Add/Rescan... dialog) it should show the results. Currently the results are shown only for local and nework files and the cloud scan process seems independent. This looks like a bug.

Ludek

2018-07-04 15:18

developer   ~0050698

Last edited: 2018-07-10 09:35

View 6 revisions

User is rather looking for kind of "confirmation" dialog, maybe it could be scan/sync results with kind of "undo".
To be figured out how to make this well working and not annoying for scheduled scan/sync.

More at:
https://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=30&t=90486&p=447239#p447236
and
http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=30&t=90338&e=1&view=unread#p447066

Espacially:
After playing MM5 GPM sync a little, I think that people may be concerned about using it, as it is at the moment.

If I sync from my MMA db, I know exactly what I am going to be syncing back to my MMW db.

A person's GPM library is a bit more an unknown thing. The Google UI for building, managing, and observing the library is just horrible. ... It is hard to know|remember just what is in there. There can be duplicates. There can be junk you added once, and forgot about.

Maybe I just want to sync just 1 new album, or just a few selected tracks.

Syncing the whole library back is a great bonus from MM5, as long as there is visibility to see what it has done ... and there is some way that it can be fully or partially undone ... a preview before adding tracks would be preferable ... ie. facility where I could cancel the import of all, or selected, tracks or albums.

At the moment there is poor visibility. ... There is no preview of what is going to be added. ... No facility to seek approval. ... The Music > Location > GPM is way that the additions can be detected and removed ... but are you going leave this as is? ... and before the fact preview would be better that after the fact damage repair.


Ludek

2018-07-24 18:33

developer   ~0050811

It seems that this could be superseded by 0014983