View Issue Details
|ID||Project||Category||View Status||Date Submitted||Last Update|
|0013280||MediaMonkey (current)||Synchronization||public||2016-05-13 12:34||2020-12-28 22:26|
|Priority||urgent||Severity||minor||Reproducibility||unable to reproduce|
|Target Version||4.1.12||Fixed in Version||4.1.12|
|Summary||0013280: Show error message when MTP is frozen|
|Description||As suggegsted over IM, because MTP often freezes after a file deletion in Android and we cannot do much about it ( 0013260, 0012961) then MMW should shown the following message when it happens:|
Suggestion is to show this after 2 minutes of MTP freeze:
"The media transfer process on your device appears to be frozen. If the situation persists for longer than 5-10 minutes, disconnect your device and reboot it. If the problem recurs, please use Wi-Fi Sync instead."
|Steps To Reproduce||Without involving MMA/MMW:|
1) Connect the phone over USB
2) Run Total Commander for Android and delete a file
3) Try to browse the phone using Windows Explorer
With involving MMA/MMW: 0013260, 0012961
|Tags||No tags attached.|
|Fixed in build||1794|
|related to||0012961||resolved||peke||MediaMonkey (current)||USB Sync freezes when removing content|
|related to||0013278||assigned||rusty||MediaMonkey for Android||Sync failures on huawei device triggered by track deletion|
|related to||0013283||closed||Ludek||MediaMonkey (current)||Display error message when MTP failure would result in a duplicate profile|
|related to||0013293||closed||Ludek||MediaMonkey (current)||Sync error messages should be localized|
|related to||0016329||closed||Ludek||MediaMonkey 5||Deleting content from USB-attached device --> crash|
|related to||0017298||closed||Ludek||MediaMonkey 5||MTP Freeze dialog can show multiple times|
Added in 18.104.22.1682
The error message correctly appears (e.g. if MMW is stuck on track 2), however, when the user disconnects the device, the status bar advances to 'Synching track 3...' and 2 minutes later the error message appears again (and the status bar continues to display 'Synching track x...'.
At this point MM continues to work, but it cannot be terminated, except by force..
||I can confirm that disconnecting the device before closing the dialog causes the dialog to be unclosable, looking into it|
||Fixed in 1793|
When testing 0013294 (using build 1792) I noticed a problem. This error message appears and apparently blocks synchronization from proceeding (i.e. synchronization only continues after I clicked 'OK' in the dialog).
I haven't been able to replicate the problem (in fact I'm not sure why it occurred, since I rebooted the device prior to the sync operation), but it seemed a bit strange that the sync operation only proceeded after clicking 'OK'.
The issue can be seen in the log failed_sync_of_auto-converted_tracks.LOG from bug 0013294.
||Fixed in 1794|